Before Goodreads V.S. After Goodreads: My Bookish Life

So I talk about this a lot in some of my posts: my life was DRASTICALLY* different before I started using Goodreads versus AFTER I started using Goodreads.

And this post will list all of my points!

*I mean, now I know the actual order of a series. Drastic enough, am I right??

And also, slight update: I’m going to design my blog post icon photo things?? Because why not?? I have tried in the past, but it took too much effort.. so I stopped (that’s what you do when things take effort right?!) But after a while of looking at everybody else’s beautiful graphics I decided to actually do something. (still haven’t fixed that header yet..) but I’m playing around with Canva and trying to design a new icon/new header!!! And also I’m trying to make a divider graphic that’s better than a line..

Oh, and also I’m going to try to post on a schedule and more frequently.. maybe like, two/three posts per week?? I’ve been attacked with an influx of post ideas?


Series Order

Like I mentioned two seconds ago, I now know the orders of different series!

And this is actually important because now that I’ve moved on from MG’s books since a while ago (#upgrade) there aren’t series order numbers on the covers/spines???? Like, it’s not hard!! JUST INCLUDE A “1” or something. Maybe even lines, like Roman numerals!!

And yes this has affected my life because I found out a couple of months ago that I read the Delirium series in the wrong order?? #ooooooops

It literally explained so much. Because I was SO confused the first 15% of each book but I was just like “eh,” I probably missed something when I was reading (I do that a lot, but that’s reserved for another blog post.) and MOVE ON.

#protip: when you think something is off, DON’T MAKE MY MISTAKES AND JUST MOVE ON

New Releases

Yeah so I survived off of back covers + googling what to read. And also stumbling upon books in the library. TBH for some reason I forgot that books existed outside of the library??? So I would only read books if it was in the library. If a book was missing I would just move on and hope that the library would stock up on it. Spoiler: it didn’t.

I mean, I pretty much get all of my books from the library because um, I’m a broke teenager.

But now I get alerts when a new release is on the shelves!! It’s very helpful and life changing.

Um I just realized that this seems like I’m advertising all of Goodreads’s features BUT IM NOT I JUST LOVE GOODREADS*

*in case you were wondering, I AM A NORMAL HUMAN BEING**

**BEAN

New Books

The way I found new books was pretty much by googling “what to read after ____”

I mean, it yielded results. (Honestly I’m surprised by the vast amount of posts like that online.)

But still, Goodreads is so much more fun. You get to have a TBR 5x bigger than you planned to have, and then read like .07% of that (#accurate) and then cry over all the books you want to read. It’s a great life!

Reviews

Is it weird that I slightly stalk other people and read all of their reviews?? (The other people = all the top reviewers)

Because it’s so much fun for me to read other reviews about what I want to read or what I have loved! Honestly, I enjoy reading bad reviews of my favorite books because new perspective!!

(There’s always been a whole controversy about different book opinions and civilly have a discussion versus having a full blown hate argument and I’m here like welllllll I don’t hate reading other people’s opinions because they are just opinions??)


 

So… if you can’t tell, you should get a Goodreads if you don’t have one! Although it hasn’t been a useful tool blogger wise (I haven’t gained traction from it) it’s stills very useful book tracking tool! And a tool for all the things I mentioned above, of course.

Oh, and here‘s the link to Goodreads if you don’t have one (psst you should click on it!).

So… do you use Goodreads? If not, do you use any other tools? Or do you keep it all in your mind? And if it’s the last choice, TEACH ME YOUR WAYS.

21 thoughts on “Before Goodreads V.S. After Goodreads: My Bookish Life

Add yours

  1. Haha, I don’t use Goodreads anymore. πŸ˜‚ I used it before blogging for a year and a half, and it stressed me out, got a bit annoying, and I hated being influenced by others’ reviews (which happened way too often). But I know it’s a better tool for other people; I just like being able to add a book to my TBR without influence (especially since Goodreads hype has failed me sometimes 😝)! But I’m glad it’s worked much better for you! I knew Goodreads pushed me to start a blog! πŸ˜„

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw, well, I can totally see that happening tbh. There have been times where I was slightly influenced but I like to try to keep my own opinions… And same, Goodreads helped ME to start my blog as well! Goodreads definitely has its drawbacks but it still has plenty of benefits to readers, so I think I’ll keep on using it. πŸ™ƒ Do you use a TBR/read tracker now?

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m learning to love Goodreads. I’ve had one since my freshman or sophomore year of high school and I never really liked it that much, but I recently went back, deleted my entire TBR, and am starting anew, and hoping to like it a lot more than I originally did. I don’t like being influenced by reviews, and that still hasn’t changed, but I’m learning to like other aspects of it more.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That happened to me too! For some reason, at first I thought Goodreads was a way to read books πŸ˜‚ and I stopped using it. But a friend reintroduced it to me so I started using it a lot more! And yes, I hate being influenced by reviews but I enjoy reading them usually if I’ve already read the book 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah, I’ve only gotten back into it in the last month, and I’ve banned myself from reading reviews before I’ve read the book, which has helped me like it better.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Goodreads never changed my reading all that much, my reading was more changed by Amazon. I used to find new books by looking at the related products on Amazon; it introduced me to so many new books! I love using Goodreads to see what everyone else is reading and keep track of what I’ve read.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ahh yes! this is relatable!
    I ALWAYS find a way to find the series order. I don’t why people think we don’t need to know, like hello bookish ignorance is the worst! I MUST KNOW ALL and you are withholding this dark and wonderful secret from me. WHAT NUMBER IS IT? I NEVER read books in the wrong order because I feel like it’s against the bookish code to do so, but you’re right, Goodreads made the job so much easier!
    I think Goodreads AND book blogging helped with learning about this WHOLE BIGGER WORLD OF BOOKS? Like, new releases, diverse books, FANTASY (because like gosh I never used to read it before). I used to be actuallY STUCK on finding books to read, and now I am drowning because whenever I see someone reading a new book on Goodreads, it is on my TBR.
    I Stalk all the reviews on Goodreads and it’s great fun becasue you get to see so many different opinions, and I LOVE it! It helps me think of points for my review and yeah, it’s great!

    P.S I love how your featured image is looking! Good luck with yoru divider

    Liked by 1 person

    1. AHHHH I KNOW RIGHT? I wish I was you and always found it out! Sadly, the covers of the books on the back of Delirium were in the wrong order, so… πŸ˜‚
      And YESS I used to try to hard to find new books but now my TBR is way too big for me to every get through πŸ˜‚ “Be careful what you wish for”?? πŸ˜‚
      And yes, I love reading reviews because sometimes I’m like “Oh yeah, I forgot to include that!”
      And thanks! And yes, I’ll need the luck for my divider πŸ˜‚

      Liked by 1 person

  5. GUESS WHAT JULIANNA I don’t have a GR account. XD I’m getting it this Friday, though, the day after I get out of school! I’m super excited — I think I’ll be using it for mainky the organizational features but HAHA I’LL PROBABLY END UP WRITING REVIEWS TOO. πŸ˜›

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Hey!

    Nice blog (: I just started mine up and was looking for a few relative friends in the book world! I have a Booktube channel too. Also, There is a giveaway currently going on and I will be posting more as soon as I finish editing a few videos.

    Thanks and I hope you like my blog! :*

    Like

  7. Ohh this is too fun! I agree with so much of it too- before Goodreads, I would just read whatever Amazon suggested I should read next, which wasn’t smart of me because they just wanted all my money, let’s be real. I am having a good chuckle about the Delirium thing, too! I can’t even imagine jumping in halfway through the series! It is so true though that once you have Goodreads, you need EVERY book ever published, and there will never be time in your life for all of them. Great post!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha yes! I mainly thrived on Google πŸ˜‚

      AHA yes omg I was literally SO confused when I started it. But I just shrugged and move on.
      And yes omg! Whenever someone wants to read a new book, I instantly go “ME TOO” and thus my TBR shelf grows bigger. Thanks! 😊

      Like

  8. I absolutely love Goodreads! The amount of books I read in a month has more than tripled since I joined last July; seeing everyone else’s TBR piles and reading challenges motivates me to read more. Plus, it’s a super handy way to keep track of and prioritize my giant TBR. It’s also helped my TBR grow at an exponential rate, though, so it’s both a blessing and a curse XD

    Ellie | On the Other Side of Reality

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

