Review: The Library of Fates // Why It Disappointed Me

My thoughts on this book are complicated. Very, very complicated.

Here it is in a short sense: I was kind of mad the first 70% of this book, but the ending made me just go gahhhhhhh. In a good way.

ALSO, you may be thinking, “This isn’t on your posting schedule. Why are you posting today?” And my response is, “Because I want to.” *thumbs up*

Here is my Goodreads review by the way. Which is slightly different.

watercolor divider 2

2.png

{the cover also links to Goodreads}

The Library of Fates by Aditi Khorana

32766747A romantic coming-of-age fantasy tale steeped in Indian folklore, perfect for fans of The Star-Touched Queen and The Wrath and the Dawn

No one is entirely certain what brings the Emperor Sikander to Shalingar. Until now, the idyllic kingdom has been immune to his many violent conquests. To keep the visit friendly, Princess Amrita has offered herself as his bride, sacrificing everything—family, her childhood love, and her freedom—to save her people. But her offer isn’t enough.

The unthinkable happens, and Amrita finds herself a fugitive, utterly alone but for an oracle named Thala, who was kept by Sikander as a slave and managed to escape amid the chaos of a palace under siege. With nothing and no one else to turn to, Amrita and Thala are forced to rely on each other. But while Amrita feels responsible for her kingdom and sets out to warn her people, the newly free Thala has no such ties. She encourages Amrita to go on a quest to find the fabled Library of All Things, where it is possible for each of them to reverse their fates. To go back to before Sikander took everything from them.

Stripped of all that she loves, caught between her rosy past and an unknown future, will Amrita be able to restore what was lost, or does another life—and another love—await?

watercolor divider 2

1

★★★☆☆

I originally gave this book four stars because that ending is so good. But the problem is, I didn’t really like the beginning. Or the middle.

So that bodes me a problem, doesn’t it??

I really, really, really, really liked the ending. The ending made me feel nostalgia even though it wasn’t nostalgic and it was just… beautiful. I can’t really say anything because then there would be #spoilers and I don’t want you to become a puddle on the floor. (Aren’t I kind?)

Another thing that I really enjoyed was the setting. It was fun learning about all the old mythologies of the place, and the world seemed so interesting and gorgeous itself.

However, the first 50% had me like:

Image result for it just doesn't make sense gif
DO YOU NOT LOVE THIS JOHN WATSON GIF.

Overview of why this book disappointed me:

  • The plot..
  • The romance was hardly developed.

The plot itself wasn’t very action-y. But I did expect it to have action. After all, they’re running away from the government. No, that’s not necessarily a bad thing.

But the thing is, the way the plot works is that someone tells them what to do and they do it. And it’s not hard at all for Amrita to “overcome herself” or whatever. In my opinion, this reads more like a “discover yourself” book which has no plot. Just like The Star Touched Queen.*

There is a well-done plot twist (aka the ending that I was raving about), if we can really call it a plot twist. Points for that!

*Yes, I am still salty over that book. Why is the cover so pretty but the insides pointless?

The romance was based off of “true love,” giving an excuse for insta-love. But in my opinion, there is no excuse for insta-love.

“Even though I wasn’t accustomed to strangers and overwhelmed with paranoia that Sinkander’s men had somehow sent him, his seductive smile made me impulsively curious.”

Image result for girl are you kidding me gif

Let me please remind you that Amrita is currently running away from the government. This is no time to be flirting with boys!

And anyways, she starts to have romantic relations with a boy after meeting him what, two or three times?

 

More thoughts with mild spoilers.

And yes, I do get that she’s his “true love” or whatever, but THAT DOES NOT JUSTIFY ANYTHING. JUST BECAUSE YOU GUYS ARE “FATED TO BE TOGETHER” doesn’t mean that you can lack romantic development.

 

Basically, I was super excited for this book because LOOK AT THAT COVER. *hyperventilates over the beautifulness of it* And shhhh beautifulness is totally a word. But if you liked The Star Touched Queen, you’ll probably like this! The blurb wasn’t lying about that part. But I LOVED THE WRATH AND THE DAWN so this blurb is still technically lying. #Exposed

The characters. Now, I don’t really have much of a problem with that. Amrita was pretty likeable. Amrita is a very cautious person and she faces some character development. After all, this is a coming-of-age story.

watercolor divider 2

I am so proud of myself for learning how to do that “toggle text” tag. I WILL PROBABLY USE IT FOREVER IN ALL SPOILERY STUFF. (The link on how to do it is here.)

Also, LOOK AT MY NEW FEATURED IMAGE. I’ve been experimenting with graphics, and I think I’ll stick to this one for my reviews?

Tell me your thoughts! (please)

Did you read this book? Do you hate insta-love like moi? Do you read books solely because of the cover?

21 thoughts on “Review: The Library of Fates // Why It Disappointed Me

Add yours

  1. YES YES YES THANK YOU FOR THE TOGGLE TEXT THINGGGGGG. I was going to ask you about it. XD

    I’m sad this disappointed you, Ju! I admit, I don’t think I even read the synopsis — I just put it on my TBR because of the cover. *hides* But NOOOOOO insta-love has ruined so many books for me!!! Like NO IS IT REALLY THAT DIFFICULT TO MAKE THE ROMANCE DEVELOPED???

    And wow Ju!!! You posted on a day you weren’t scheduled to!!! I am proud!!!

    Great review! I still hope I’ll like this… but probably not cuz INSTA-LOVE.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. OH lovely review, thank you so much for writing this! I heard good things about this book so far and added it to my TBR because I was so curious about it all and that cover, I couldn’t resist. I’m so sorry to hear you have been a bit disappointed by this. I’m a bit sad the romance wasn’t developed and that it wasn’t as action paced as you expected it to. Oh well, I’m warned now, will read this with a bit less expectations for sure! Thank you 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I TOTALLY feel you on being torn on a book. I spent 20 minutes just staring at my goodreads trying to decide what to rate Queen of Shadows because I didn’t like the beginning but LOVED the ending (tbh my biggest problem with SJM is that her books are such a mixed bag for me… but that’s off topic XD) And I HATE instalove! Sometimes I look back on a relationship and have to wonder, what do these characters have in common? Why do they love each other? And when I can’t think of any reason I get really frustrated…

    Liked by 1 person

  4. OOOOOH okay so I just stumbled across your blog and I love your reviewing? Like damn, I didn’t read half of these because the spoilers will burn me alive BUT YES. Now I want to read this book just for its ending ahahhaha! Loved this review! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Ughhgh noooo. It’s like the Star Touched Queen?! I couldn’t handle that one. 😦 I thought the instalove was just an excuse for lazy writing tbh. And I don’t like it when books are no plot = all romance. I MEAN THAT’S NOT INTERESTING.😂 I had such high hopes for this one so I’ll definitely be lowering my expectations a little.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. EXACTLY.
      I was so excited for Star Touched Queen because I was like “Politics and ruling? YES PLEASE” but there’s like no politics and ruling and like HOW IS SHE CONSIDERED A QUEEN
      Yes! I thought that it was just an excuse and I am very disappointed.

      Like

  6. NOOOOO JULIANNA why must this book disappoint??? I didn’t read much of the synopsis before putting it on my TBR (if I did I forgot what it was in two seconds) because THAT COVER! So beautiful and it also mentions The Wrath and the Dawn and The Star Touched Queen? I know you said it’s like The Star Touched Queen but WHAT ABOUT TWATD??? 😭😭 And instalove??? I am horrible with instalove oh my gosh. Blech. I hope I like this? But my expectations are a lot lowered now haha. OH BUT THANKS FOR THE TOGGLE TEXT THING!! ❤ I never knew that existed haha.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha yes I AM SAD ABOUT IT.

      THE COVER IS SO PRETTY THOUGH, I LOVE IT SO MUCH. And the ending was good. But… I didn’t like much else XD.

      I don’t think it was like The Wrath and the Dawn in any way except both of them were trying to become married to other kings?? TWATD WAS SO MUCH BETTER.

      Your welcome for the toggle text thing!

      Like

  7. I saw this below!! The TOGGLE TEXT – THANK YOU! I was just thinking a couple days ago I need something for spoilers!!

    I was disappointed too after that cover! AND THE LIES!! The ending did make reading the book worth it but the Watson gif SAID IT ALL!! The horrible insta-love and the lack of ACTION! And we never got to go the a LIBRARY!! Such a great review!! So different but similar to mine, lol! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

