My Writing Updates [#2] Be Proud of My Progress

Can I say that I’ve actually worked on my novel* since my last writing update?

Not much, but I STILL WORKED ON IT NONETHELESS*. I’ve outlined a little bit more and I’ve worked on rewriting my draft! When I started, I actually wrote the first three-ish chapters before I started outlining and then quit there. Because I’m lazy. But since I restarted working on it, I’m also rewriting instead of plotting. #smart (sarcasm.)

BUT, also, I have worked a lot more on the backstory of the novel as well as the history of the characters and their goals. And a lot more of that stuff.

(And also for my featured image I was going to take a picture of my printed out outline but I lost it. So. Blank loose leaf pages!)

*Can I really say novel? It’s more like a .7% finished collection of words, to be honest.

**WHICH IS STILL A RARE OCCURRENCE. YOU SHOULD BE PROUD OF ME.

Watercolor Streak

ABOUT MY STORY

Haha no this is not an edit because I totally forgot to explain my story and its name and all that jazz.

This story is a story taking place in Asia about a girl who’s a thief. And she steals. And then she gets caught. THE WHOLE SYNOPSIS IS AT THE BOTTOM, OK? More stuff is also in my first writing updates post, where I explain it and stuff.

I call it TNOSS because the title is The Night of Shattered Stars. (I am way too proud of myself for making it.) And yes, stars has something to do with the plot. And I totally forgot to mention that in my synopsis but IT’S OKAY. I’LL DO SOMETHING ABOUT THAT LATER. When I actually write my story.

Watercolor Streak

CHARACTER BUILDING

I kind of forced my school-friends (*cough* acquaintances) to help me with my story.

Which they did. But also 70% of it was saying that Aasani sounded like Dasani (te water bottle company) and recommending that I name the villain Aquaphor (another water bottle company)

Ah, friends can be so helpful sometimes. *grits teeth*

But anyways, I actually got some work done!

They told me about the alignment system and about how I should make the goals for each character in the story separate. So… I did that.

But also, I! Made! Facebook! Character! Profiles! For! My! Characters!

Here’s a screenshot of one of them (because I’m kind??? And obviously you want to read about my story??? Probably not though.)

Noah's character profile.PNG

And I crossed out the parts that might contain spoilers. Because #no.

Watercolor Streak

WORD COUNT

actually rewrote stuff that I had already written. Because since I was switching between perspectives, some sentences were in first person and some were in third.

Here’s a snippet.

snippet of my failure at perspectives

SEE THE TRAIN WRECK THAT I HAVE WRITTEN HERE?? DO YOU SEE IT???

I did a bunch of word wars. *cue cheering* And they actually helped me write a lot more! *cue more cheering*

If you don’t know what word wars is (which May kindly enlightened me on), word wars is basically a “contest” with another person in which you write for five or ten or any number of minutes. And whoever writes the most, wins! (I lost 90% of the time.)

For me, word warring for around ten minutes was like, around 300 words. Aka if you word war three times a day, you can get around a thousand words.

Conclusion: if you have no motivation at all for writing (aka you’re like me) then WORD WAR WITH A FRIEND. Have no friends? Word war with your sister! Have a sister who screams at you and stays in her room to watch dramas? Word war… with yourself!

Do you get my point now? You get it.

Watercolor Streak

OUTLINING (AKA PLOTTING)

I… DID NOT DO MUCH WITH MY OUTLINING, I ADMIT. *laughs nervously and backs away*

But I did plot more basic points! So… yay?? Also, I found this nice article about the six basic emotional arcs of stories. This article doesn’t actually have a list of them, but it links you to some. I think. I don’t know. (I read it on the app on my phone, and it showed the arcs. It didn’t show them on the computer, though???)

Watercolor Streak

OTHER STUFF (& ALSO THE SNIPPETS)

ALSOOOO I FIGURED OUT HOW TO CODE A BOX THAT LOOKS THE WAY I WANT IT TO!!! From Analee’s super helpful post here. (I also learned how to change the size of the font.)

 

So, I made some changes to my blurb! I’ll probably make it longer… or something. I know, I know, I said that my story would be Arabian-esque. BUT I ALSO MIGHT MAKE THE SETTING OF MY STORY IN CHINA. BECAUSE I’M CHINESE. AND #HERITAGE.

Anyways, here are snippets??

A thief’s worst nightmare is getting caught.

Aasani lives in the city as a thief. Until she’s caught for stealing a dagger and hauled off to prison.

When the rebellion comes knocking on the doors of the her cell, Aasani faces two choices: lie about being in the rebellion and be released from the prison, or stay there and possibly rot to death.

Aasani goes on magical adventure taking place in the desert, where there’s no where to hide but the sand.

I know, I know, I said that my story would be Arabian-esque. BUT I ALSO MIGHT MAKE THE SETTING OF MY STORY IN CHINA. BECAUSE I’M CHINESE. AND #HERITAGE.

Anyways, here are snippets??

 

diving observational skills.PNG
Okay, but I’ll probably change that. AASANI NEEDS TO BE CUTTHROAT. But let’s face it, I’m probably going to end up making her a ball of fluff.
funny seaweed related.
SEE? AASANI’S KIND OF A BALL OF FLUFF NOW. DANG IT.
grasshopper
Yes, it’s confirmed, Aasani is no longer cutthroat.
snippet of aasani thinking bad thoughts
Trying to write hateful thoughts and stuff? And no this is not funny??
Okay, but also these were *kind of* funny scenes. And now I have to put more in because I SPOILED ALL OF THEM. #oops

And (in case it wasn’t obvious) I decided to write in third person! I was debating whether to do first or third. Obviously not second because #nope. NOT FOR ME.

Watercolor Streak

Also, I’m doing Camp Nano! I’ve set my goal to 50k for now, but I heard from Lia that we can change it, so… if I fail, I can change it and pretend that I’m an overachiever! #BackupPlan

Tell me your thoughts! (please)

Are you guys writing anything? (Did I already ask that in my last writing update? I think so.) Do you guys word war? Did you guys make character profiles? Are you doing Camp Nano?

ALSO PROMISE ME THAT IF I EVER PUBLISH (in a gazillion years) THAT YOU WILL BUY MY BOOK??? OR READ IT. OR SOMETHING. I DON’T KNOW.

Just kidding. You don’t have to promise me. I’ll just mind control you into doing it.

37 thoughts on “My Writing Updates [#2] Be Proud of My Progress

Add yours

  1. J8 REPUBLISH THIS POST (schedule it for a time later than right now) BECAUSE I’M 90% SURE THAT IT DIDN’T SHOW UP IN THE READERS OF MOST OF YOUR FOLLOWERS.

    Also you need to get better at crossing out things because I figured out Noah’s job HA.

    YES I’M WRITING SOMETHING. YES I WORD WAR. (*cough* with you *cough*) YES I MAKE CHARACTER PROFILES. YES I’M DOING CAMP NANO.

    Honestly, J8. These questions are so easy to answer.

    And of course I’d buy your book and read it??? That is true dedication right there — I would BUY it. I better be in your Acknowledgements.

    And HAHAHAHA Aasani is so not cutthroat. BUT I BELIEVE IN YOU. Just make her 1000% more sassy and cut all the defensiveness. She’d be on the verbal offense of things. 😉 At least I think??? Idek anymore.

    ALSO THAT SWITCHING PERSONS SNIPPET WAS HILARIOUS. Like did you just forget what person you were writing in??? XD And I’m sooooo glad you went with third person because 1) I love it, 2) I REALLY REALLY DON’T LIKE FIRST PERSON, and 3) I feel like it suits you better???

    And also. Dude. You’re very good at coding.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I DID DO THAT, THANKS.

      You mean… my plan… has failed?? (jk it wasn’t even a major spoiler)

      Haha well ok I wanted to go easy on you guys…. *nods vigorously*

      HAha I would buy yours too.. yup. #TrueFriendship YOU WILL BE IN MY ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS I PROMISE.

      AHHHH I am so bad at writing cutthroat characters.. I AM NOT GOOD AT CREATING SITUATIONS FOR HER TO BE SASSY. BUT I SHALL TRY.

      Haha well I originally wrote in first person.. and then I was like “nah, I wanna be in third person.” And I FAILED AT EDITING.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Your story sounds awesome! I love the snippets and congratulations on your progress! I’m trying to make some progress myself but so far it’s not going fast 😅

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Of course You should be proud of your progress. Just don’t fall into the, “one sentence is better than no sentences, right?” hole. I’ve visited on rare occasions. It’s a terrible hole. With unspeakable things at the bottom. And a bunch of writers who aren’t writing. There are worse holes, but not many. Anyway… congrats!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Your story sounds great so far! It’s so easy to accidentally change from first person to third when you’re writing, and also past to present tense! It doesn’t really matter as long as you edit it 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh this is such a great post, I loved learning more about your story – and I LOVE the title so, so much! You should be so proud of your progress, this is quite awesome already! ❤ Best of luck for the rest of your story, YOU CAN DO THIS – and please share more snippets and stuff? I love it 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  6. This was such a fun post! I feel like I got to know you better reading it, lol, which is so cool! I love the sound of your story and am especially intrigued by the title! Third person is the best to me too… do showing my ignorance here but WHAT ARE WORD WARS? I am SOOO excited by this (whatever it is!)

    Liked by 1 person

  7. HEY HI HELLO I WILL DEFINITELY BUY YOUR BOOK IF YOU PUBLISH IT BECAUSE I LOVE IT ALREADY!

    And I’m sorry to have to tell you this but Aasani is a ball of fluff for sure XD BUT I LIKE IT. If you want to make her cutthroat though do what May said, that sounds good XD

    And good luck with Camp NaNo! I’m so sad that I won’t be participating but I hope you’ll have fun ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  8. EEEEP, I still can’t get over how BEAUTIFUL your title is!
    Also, share your secret HOW DO YOU NAME YOUR CHARACTERS?! Explain this sorcery!! Though Noah actually sounds kinda awesome? I like how is hair is ‘messy and straight’ sounds like a perfect friend! I definitely want to word war…but I HAVE NO FRIENDS! Though May is definitely an awesome friend ❤

    ME? AM I WORKING ON ANYTHING…Well, in a month or so I'm going to write a story with blogger friends so maybe? I'm also going to start outlining another story in summer…BUT THAT'S A MONTH because I've still got a school! I'm not doing camp when November strikes *rubs hands together*

    I WILL OBVIOUSLY READ YOUR BOOK (it better have a nice cover though)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. THANKS. I AM QUITE PROUD MYSELF.
      I don’t knowwww… I just named Aasani by looking up names of stars. And yeah. For Aeta and Zinka… I kind of just MADE UP SOUNDS THAT I LIKED. I DO NOT KNOW. I really like vowel combinations.

      WHAT. YOU HAVE ME. I AM YOUR FRIEND, FRIEND.

      YAY. IT WILL BE A GOOD STORY, PROBABLY. Good luck on all of your writing!!

      GOOD. (I WANT IT TO HAVE A NICE COVER TOO.)

      Liked by 1 person

  9. I DO CHARACTER BUILDING LIKE THAT TOOOOO!! *high fives* Also I really like to fill out questionnaires for my characters?? You can find a whole bunch of them on Pinterest… or even those “how to start a conversation” lists…and then answer the questions for your characters! <<< SUPER HELPFUL in my experience. 😉

    Your novel sounds fabulous!! ROCK ON, DUDE!! *gives u waffles*

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I love reading writing updates SO MUCH! Also, yes I am kinda writing something? Its hard to explain LOL. I have a story in my mind, and have written a bit but NEED to outline ASAP. I am thinking about doing camp NaNoWriMo? But idk, I need to give that idea more thought. 😂

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Aasani-the-ball-of-fluff IS MEEEEE. “It’s all wet and stuff” 😂 Your story sounds gooooood!! I am jealous because I am lazy and have zero ideas on how to write?? I once made character profiles but they didn’t go anywhere lol. I do want to try Camp Nano one day when I get the motivation to write though!! 🙈 AND YES! I would totally buy your book, thoughhh in a gazillion years I may be dead?? DON’T HOLD IT AGAINST MY SOUL PLEASE. 😂😂 Oh and I’m glad my post was helpful for those things! Good luck with your writing, young grasshopper. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. YAY. Although i’m trying to move the fluffiness to another character. THANK YOUUUUUUUUUUUU but I also lack motivation to write??? It’s like “yes it’s camp nano but I HAVEN’T DONE ANYTHING”

      NO ANALEE I WILL BE DISAPPOINTED IF YOUR SOUL DOESN’T BUY MY BOOK IN A GAZILLION YEARS.

      Yes your post was helpful!! Thank you!!

      Like

  12. Um ok your story sounds amazing! The seaweed scene? Super adorable! Pleaaaase keep us posted!

    Also I’m not sure if you’d like to check it out, but my site is an worldwide oc writing collab, and if you’d like to join, I’d be able to draw your character and have her personality page appear on my site! Plus it’s kinda fun… so let me know either way!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

