Review: The Diabolic (More like The… Greatest?)

Hush, let’s pretend that my “The Greatest” phrase totally landed.

But anyways, can I convey how in love I am with this book??

It had everything. The beautiful plot, setting, writing, characters, and romance. *sigh*

book synopsis

Nemesis is a Diabolic. Created to protect a galactic Senator’s daughter, Sidonia. There’s no one Nemesis wouldn’t kill to keep her safe. But when the power-mad Emperor summons Sidonia to the galactic court as a hostage, there is only one way for Nemesis to protect Sidonia.

She must become her.

Now one of the galaxy’s most dangerous weapons is masquerading in a world of corruption, Nemesis has to hide her true abilities or risk everything. As the Empire begins to fracture and rebellion looms closer, Nemesis learns that there is something stronger than her deadly force: the one thing she’s been told she doesn’t have – humanity. And, amidst all the danger, action and intrigue, her humanity might be the only thing that can save her, Sidonia and the entire Empire…

Watercolor Streak

books

★★★★★

ALL THE STARS!!! Aka, five. Because I’m only a potato who can’t afford that many stars. (Stars are pretty expensive. They cost ten souls.)

This book is so good. I cannot comprehend how much you need to read this book, right now.

Image result for read this book gif
Except I’m not that violent. I only moderately stab people.

The Diabolic is fast paced book that will pretty much keep you reading the whole book in one go.

*coughs* That’s what I did.

The Diabolic also has a ferociously loveable main character, a wonderful setting, and a beautiful style of writing that helps you get in touch with Nemesis’ feelings.

This book takes place in space in a high-tech area, where Nemesis is a Diabolic, people engineered to serve others.

Nemesis is confident, skilled, and will fight you.

Image result for cute stabbin gif
This is Nemesis to, um, everyone.

And even though she’s dark and stabby, I loved her so much. There’s an aspect of this book that’s basically Nemesis trying to become more human  and when she embraces those emotions it’s just honestly so cute.

This book is even funny! I laughed out loud (like, OUT LOUD. I only do that every gazillion books.) at Nemesis’ shenanigans.

“Some might call us a monstrous pair, and they would be right. Tyrus and I were both scorpions in our way, dangerous creatures crossing the most treacherous of rivers together. Together we might sting – but we also would float.”

THEY CALLED EACH OTHER SCORPIONS. I am in love with this book.

The relationships in this book are skillfully done. Nemesis is best friends with this girl: Sidonia. Sidonia is a Senator’s daughter, so she has wealth and prestige. But Sidonia isn’t mean or cruel like those stereotypical “mean girls.” She’s kind.

I love their friendship. Sidonia and Nemesis care about each other a lot. Sometimes it was hard for Nemesis to show her love for Sidonia, but it’s still obvious how much she cares for Sidonia.

Their relationship was touching, and it was nice to see a supportive female relationship in a book.

Onto the romance. The romance was cute and they had so much chemistry! Tyrus is dark and stabby in his own way and together they become the best stabby and manipulative couple ever. Tyrus helps Nemesis be in touch with her human side, and it’s so cute watching Nemesis trying to come out of her robotic shell.

I had ALL the feels for this couple. The romance isn’t a huge focus, but it comes more into play near the end, which I loved. They build off an uneasy friendship where they’re both weary of each other stabbing their backs. I loved watching their relationship build up. The banter is also A++. I LOVE ALL THE BANTER.

Also I LOVE the whole political manipulation theme. I just love it. Am I very weird for being in love with a royal political manipulation theme? Well, probably.

blue watercolor streakDo you reading political manipulation plot twist books? Do you like Sci-fi? Do you like getting hurt by a book because I will do that if you don’t read???

And yes, that sentence is totally grammatically correct what are you talking about.

18 thoughts on “Review: The Diabolic (More like The… Greatest?)

Add yours

  1. I HEARD MIXED REVIEWS ON THIS (or maybe that was another book??? i honestly don’t know at this point) BUT NOW YOU’VE CONVINCED ME TO PICK IT UP ONE DAY. Key word being one day. But this did interest me when I saw it at B&N, and DARK STABBY PEOPLE are my kind!!! Plus I love romances where you actually SHIP the people, so this probably won’t be a letdown (romance-wise). And WHAT GRAMMATICALLY CORRECT SENTENCE ARE WE TALKING ABOUT. THERE ARE NONE.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I don’t read a lot of Sci-fi, it’s not my favorite genre but blogging has made me more and more curious about so many books…that one too, now! I have heard mixed reviews about this one before, but maybe I’ll try and give it a chance someday. Friendship, romance slowly built- up and with chemistry, yes yes and yes 😛

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh my, this book has been on my TBR ever since it got released. After reading your review on it, I can’t wait to start reading it. I love fast-paced, action-packed books. And Nemesis being a strong, skilled, confident protagonist? Gosh, I’m sold! XD

    Liked by 1 person

  4. The amount of time you say “stabby” in this review… XD The book sounds pretty great. I think I heard you talking about it one time but I never really knew anything about it. Maybe I’ll have to pick it up next time I’m at Barnes and Noble or the Library.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

