How Do You Organize Your Blogging Life?

One of the blogger’s* goals is to be organized with their blogging life!

Well, mine is. Along with becoming famous, destroying all humans who do not agree with my rule, conquering the earth, eating a variety of foods, and also making my blog better.

But let’s focus on the organization part!

I haven’t exactly achieved the perfect mode of “blogging organization” but I am organized in certain… areas. Kind of.**

*And yes, I’m speaking for all bloggers that exist and have ever existed.

**AKA I create schedules and lists and whatnot to pretend that I’m organized when my organization is just a big mess falling apart.

blue watercolor streak

POSTING SCHEDULE

I’ll admit that I stole this idea from May. I steal a lot of things from her (because she’s a fabulous blogger). Like ideas. And mangoes.

(Before I make a schedule, whenever I needed to post something, I just browsed through my post drafts and thought about which one I wanted to write the most.)

I have a posting schedule, which has a list of all the post ideas and the dates of which I will post them, all the way down to October or November. Because having an idea gives you more ideas and so on.

I use Google Docs for my posting schedule and for a lot of my different documents and notes that I have. I also use it for my writing*!

Here’s my posting schedule for June, if you want to take a look at it.

posting schedule for june

Wherever it’s highlighted is whenever I procrastinated on posting or posted late, ha. Ha.

And whenever I post the actual post, I strike through it!

(I’m honestly too proud of myself for making this, ok? LOOK HOW ORGANIZED IT LOOKS** AND IGNORE THE FACT THAT I STILL KEEP ON PROCRASTINATING.)

But if you make one of these, take note of this: I constantly move around things on my posting planner. Because I’m more of a mood-writer. I write what I feel like writing, and so far it’s worked! This is more of a schedule that I can use whenever I feel like it, but I haven’t let it stop me from posting what I want to post!

Here’s my posting schedule for July!

july posting schedule

And as you can see, I had a little post abandonment for around a week. But I’m back, (back again).

Having a posting schedule also helps you to keep track of your ideas! Whenever I have an idea, I usually put it in my planner, and then I realize that I’ve already had that idea. I’m copying myself all the time?? And my ideas aren’t even that good??

*And I’m laughing at myself because wHAT WRITING HAVE I EVEN DONE.

**A major reason I even have this posting schedule is probably just so I can look at how ORGANIZED IT LOOKS.

blue watercolor streak

CODING, TAGS, & OTHER THIGNS

I use Evernote for a lot of different things!

I kind of use Evernote for my whole life, and I have a notebook for books and bloggerly stuff. I pride myself on keeping track of a bunch of different things, but reality is that I probably have missed a lot of different things.

I have a note open for all the awards/tags that I have been tagged in for 2017! I also include the times I’ve been mentioned in a post, so that I can put it in my monthly wrap-up*!

Here’s what my “Awards I have done” section looks like**.

awards i have done.PNG

I always list the person I’ve been tagged by and include the links to their posts, so I can easily link to them in my posts.

SEE?? I AM ORGANIZED. *nods convincingly*

Image result for yes totally gif
Me whenever anyone asks if I’m organized.

I also have another note for html codes, which you can gaze at lovingly here:

blogging html codes.PNG

I have the codes for changing text size and for links, so that I can just copy and paste whenever I need it.

Half the reason I made this is because actually typing it out is too much work. Laziness = efficiency, right?

*And also pretend that I’m famous because WHO DOESN’T PRETEND THAT THEY’RE FAMOUS?

**I’m only including the awards I’ve already done because… I have done absolutely no tags yet. #oops I WILL SOON THOUGH.

blue watercolor streak

BOOKISH LIFE

And… books. This doesn’t really count as “blogging,” but I’m a book blogger…

Image result for why not gif
I ❤ OBAMA

So I use Goodreads for everything. I LOVE GOODREADS.

WHY GOODREADS IS AWESOME:

  • You can update your progress of a book if you don’t have a bookmark because you DOESN’T LOSE THEIR BOOKMARK??
  • You can keep track of all the books you’ve read during the year so you can look at your high or low number and either cry yourself to sleep or… cry yourself to sleep. There are no other options.
  • You can look at all of your friends’ posts unless you have no friends. THEN GO FRIEND ME ON GOODREADS, ‘KAY?
  • You can keep track of your TBR or at least pretend that you do. I have around one thousand books on my to-read shelf HOW DOES ONE KEEP TRACK OF ALL THAT?
  • You can discover new books so that you add more to your TBR and slowly die over the crushing pressure.
  • You can enter giveaways for books because IF YOU ARE NOT BROKE, tell me how you don’t buy the first book you see????
  • You can upload your writing but honestly, who even goes to that section?

In fact, I love Goodreads so much that I even made a post about how it affects my life #ShamelessSelfPromo.

blue watercolor streak

Tell me your thoughts! (please)

How do YOU organize your blogging life? Do you use Goodreads? Are you as obsessed with Obama as I AM???

57 thoughts on “How Do You Organize Your Blogging Life?

Add yours

  1. This is such a great post!!! ❤ I totally use Evernote too! I love it and have thousands of notes and over 100 notebooks, lol… YES I LOVE IT! And I LOVE Goodreads too… (except that I HATE that I do not have control over my bookshelves or rather the order that they are in!!) GOOD JOB on keeping to your posting schedule… you are doing SOOOOO good, really… if you post it, doesn't matter if its late!! (And thank you so much for the code on how to change text size… I was wondering how May did that and now I have totally jacked that code!!) 🙂 🙂 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Holy moly. You’re waaaay more organized than I am!!
    I have a crappy bullet journal where I keep the dates when I have to upload a post and that’s about it.
    If I have notes for my blog I literally write them in an email to myself and then I pin it to the top of my bunch of emails. I’m creating an Evernote account right now!!
    This is post is so helpful!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I am a very VERY mood dependent writer. Sometimes there are 10 ideas in my google docs and I just don’t feel like writing any of it D:
    So this is what usually happens next:

    (1) I scroll through my google docs with various topics
    (2) None of them calls to me
    (3) I start writing about something else

    = HUNDREDS OF UNFINISHED GOOGLE DOCS!

    I need help… 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. GOODREADS IS SO GOOD FOr ORGANISING I LOVE IT. I’ve heard some book bloggers say they don’t use it AND I DIE, because how are you even functioning? SORCERY I TELL YOU.

    I honestly just save a post in my book marks for my wrap-ups. It’s very easy to do. But EVernote works as well. I definitely need somewhere to keepy my code because I always scrabble to and old post, clikc ‘Edit’, then ‘HTML’ and copy and paste the code that i copied from last time. LONG PROCESS HERE.

    I have a posting schedule but it’s nowhere near as planned out as yours. It’s all in my head, to be perfecty honest. XD

    Wonderful post! i am so obsessed with being organised I love this ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. HAHA YES I LOVE GOODREADS. I know right? I know Mikaela doesn’t have it and she writes down books she wants to read and I’m like HOW THOUGH. HOW LONG IS THAT LIST.

      I CONSTANTLY save posts in my book marks but that’s mostly life-hacks and stuff. I have saved so many college life-hacks posts even though I’m still in high school and still have to wait a couple more years haha.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. When you become overlord of the human race, please don’t eat me… 😂 Maybe i could be your advisor 😏

    I use Google Calendars for EVERYTHING! this started last school year when I used it for keeping track of homework but now i have a blogging planner too and that really helps with me keeping track of posting ideas and when to post!

    And Goodreads is GREAT! I just started using it more (especially for TBR since I just cleaned up my to read shelf on there) and it’s great for seeing what everyone else is reading!

    Liked by 2 people

      1. I promise to be the best adviser!

        It works for me, but yeah it can look like a bit of a mess. The good thing is that you can view all events on all calendars at once, or you can turn some calendars off (for if I want to look at only my school events)

        Liked by 1 person

  6. I just followed your blog and I AM IN LOVE??? Like AJSKFLGJ EXCUSE ME WHILE I FLAIL OVER IT IN THE CORNER.

    I’m on Le Giant Blogging Hiatus from my personal blog rn per the request of my parents (sigh), but when I get back to blogging, I’m hoping to be more organized?? I’m planning to keep my drafts in a Google Doc and the dates and categories and stats in a spreadsheet. OH LOOK AT FUTURE SARAH BEING ALL ORGANIZED. (hahaha no probably not going to work or happen.)

    Honestly though HOW ARE YOU SO ORGANIZED. You and May both. Look at you organized blogging masters. TEACH ME YOUR WAYS PLS.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I have a blogging schedule just as well and I’m doing it on Google Sheets as well. It’s for the whole year, with every single day here, and I can write notes next to the blog post subject like drafted, missing picture and so on. It is a life-saver and the planner in me is in love with this way of blogging ahah.
    And goodreads – I would do nothing without Goodreads, I NEED it otherwise I’d have no way to keep track of all the wonderful books I find out about haha. Great post! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Excuse you you do not take away MY mangoes. *I* take away *YOUR* mangoes. Smh.

    THAT ASIDE, I love this post!!! Of course you’d get inspired by me because I’m just so inspirational. But I so agree! Lately I’ve been moving things around in my schedule, or changing post ideas and I LOVE IT. Because while it’s strict enough to keep you on track, it’s flexible enough for you to bend.

    HAHAHA SUCKER I’VE MEMORIZED ALL THE CODING AND THEN I TYPE IT OUT ONCE AND THEN COPY AND PASTE IT. Joke’s on you and your Evernote thingy. But tbf I don’t keep track of the awards and tags I’m nominated for… OOPSIES. If it’s memorable enough, I’ll do it! But usually I don’t do tags/awards because… people seem to not like reading them??? I always like reading YOOOOURS tho. :))

    Lovely post!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. OKAY BUT i HAVE NO MANGOES SO YOU HAVE NONE TO TAKE.

      Yes, you are vv inspirational, May. I DON’T LOVE IT. I WISH I COULD FORCE MYSELF TO WRITE WHATEVER I HAD TO.

      Well. TYPING IS TOO HARD and also takes effort and two seconds out of your life HAHA the joke is on YOU. I keep track of them even though I have done NO tags on my blog so far! 🙂 I LIKE READING YOUUUUUR TAGS AND AWARDS TOO.

      Thank yoU!

      Liked by 1 person

  9. I love being organized as well! I don’t even know why, since I’m not organized in any other way. 😂 I personally use Planner Pro on my phone for the actual planning of the month and such – I know what posts I’m going to post on what day; I wouldn’t be able to stand choosing from the 30 drafts sitting on WordPress. 😩 And I also write down ideas in Notes, and it’s probably messy to other people, but it’s organized to me lol

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, I always try and make the effort to be organized with calendars and everything but in the end, I don’t think everything can be organized XD

      Well, you’re better at posting schedules than me haha. I WRITE NOTES DOWN IN THE NOTES APP TOO. I make lists all the time, but the bad thing is that I’m out of iCloud space and I keep on getting notifications XD

      Liked by 1 person

  10. I use Google Sheets for my blogging schedule too. It’s a great tool.
    I’ve had Goodreads for ages but never really used it until I started blogging because then I just HAD to use it. There’s no way I could keep up with my TBR if I didn’t save those books on my to-read list. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Ah yes I would definitely be SO LOST without Goodreads! My organisation needs some major help haha so I just bought a bullet journal and a ton of washi tape (because there are way too many pretty options…) and I will write down all the posts I have scheduled or am planning to schedule for a certain day. I do that now but in more of a caveman sort of way and I’m always forgetting where I wrote it down HAHA. I’m okay. I’m not a huge mess.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. WOAH I CAN’T EVEN FATHOM BEING ORGANISED. WHAT IS THIS ORGANISATION WORD YOU SPEAK OF. *gasps* 😂 Okay but I mean, I have a blogging schedule, but it’s just in my head. And I haven’t a clue what I’m posting on, say, Saturday. Only that I need to have a post up.😂I do have a sticky-note apps on my computer with list of post ideas or tags though!! So I count that as “semi-organised” but really I’m just lying to myself.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. I love the idea of keeping a document for common HTML codes. Great advice!

    I’ve starting using the Wunderlist app and really love it. It’s more of a list maker than a word document. I get random bursts where I think of all these great blog post topics, so I write those down and sort them by category, and then I can schedule when I want to post them and have my phone send me a reminder on when I need to start working on it. I’m still a procrastinator, but this definitely helps give me a sense of structure. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  14. I use a posting schedule as well! I try to be organized too but, just like you, I’m a mood writer. When I’m in the mood, I try to write as much as I can and schedule it for later so I don’t have to worry when I don’t have time or mood 😅
    Great post! I’ve been meaning to do a similar one as well but I’m just procrastinating? *Shakes my head*

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

